Sweet Potato Pie Pancakes with Marshmallow Sauce

photo-131

My grandmother makes the best sweet potato pie casserole. It’s a holiday staple in our family.

What could be better than mashed sweet potatoes, brown sugar, eggs, vanilla, butter and sugar?

Oh, that’s right.

Maybe it’s the melted marshmallows on top…

IMG_0872

I woke up this morning craving something sweet and comforting in this cold, yucky weather.  I always love pancakes for brunch on the weekends, but I didn’t want just plain pancakes. You could probably tell from my Cream Cheese and Nutella Pancakes and my Lemon Ricotta Pancakes with Fresh Blueberry Sauce that I love rich, decadent pancakes.

 I knew I wanted something rich, sweet and comforting. I just wasn’t sure what exactly.

And then my grandmother texted me.

And then a brilliant idea popped into my head.

Why don’t I make sweet potato pie pancakes?

And sweet potato pancakes wouldn’t be the same without my favorite part, the melted marshmallows on top.

photo-127

So I topped the pancakes with marshmallows and placed them under the broiler.

photo-129

But naturally I couldn’t stop there. So I made a marshmallow sauce.

 At every holiday dinner my family gets mad at me because I always eat all of the marshmallows off the top of the sweet potatoes.

It’s better than eating them out of the trash can though, right?

Yep, that really happened.

 My stepdad caught me eating stale marshmallows out of the trash can when I was a kid.

Oops.

And so I created this masterpiece (with fresh marshmallows, of course!)

IMG_0887

IMG_0886

Sweet Potato Pie Pancakes with Marshmallow Sauce

Ingredients: (makes 6 medium-sized pancakes)

  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar (can use white vinegar or lemon instead)
  • 1 sweet potato, baked and mashed
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour *(If you want to make this healthier, use 1/2 cup all-purpose flour, 1/4 cup oat flour, 1 tablespoon ground flax and 1 tablespoon hemp)
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup egg whites (or 1 egg)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 heaping tablespoon brown sugar
  • 2 packets stevia or sweetener
  • 1 tablespoon melted coconut oil

For Marshmallow sauce:

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 8 large marshmallows
  • 1 heaping teaspoon maple syrup (or more if you want a sweeter sauce)

Directions

  1. Place sweet potato on microwave-safe plate. Pierce holes in potato with fork to let steam out.
  2. Microwave sweet potato on high for ten minutes, flipping halfway through to cook evenly.
  3. Mix milk and vinegar (or lemon) in a medium bowl and let sit for five minutes.
  4. Mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, stevia, brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg in large bowl.
  5. After 5 minutes, add egg, maple syrup, and oil to milk and vinegar mixture.
  6. When sweet potato has been microwaved for ten minutes, remove carefully (will be hot!) and remove skin.
  7. Mash sweet potato with fork and add to liquid mixture.
  8. Mix the dry ingredients into the wet.
  9. Heat a pan over medium heat and spray with cooking spray or oil (I used coconut oil spray).
  10. Pour 1/6 of the mixture into the pan and cook until the surface starts to bubble and the bottom is golden brown, about 2-3 minutes.
  11. Flip the pancake and cook the other side until the bottom is golden brown, about 1-2 minutes.
  12. Repeat for the remaining batter and stack pancakes.
  13. When pancakes are finished cooking, place stacked pancakes on baking sheet and place three marshmallows (or more if you’d like) on top. Place under boiler in the oven until marshmallows are golden brown, about one-two minutes. You’ll want to watch them carefully so they don’t burn!
  14. Remove stacked pancakes from oven and place on serving plate.
  15. Combine almond milk, marshmallows and maple syrup in small saucepan. Cook on medium heat until marshmallows are melted. Do not boil.
  16. Cover stacked pancakes with Marshmallow sauce.
  17. Enjoy!

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/11626629/?claim=gwc64ygpty6″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

 

IMG_0904

Leave a Reply

