Apple, Cinnamon and Walnut Baked Oatmeal with Date Caramel Sauce {healthy, delicious and the perfect grab and go breakfast or guilt-free dessert}

Photo (63)

I think I’ve hit an all time low.

Those of you who know me well probably know I’ve dabbled in online dating for some time. Sure, I’ve had some successes with online dating in the past. The last two men I’ve met on a dating website have been two out of three of my longest and most-serious relationships. They’ve taught me a lot about who I am and what I’m looking for in a relationship partner.

Except for recently. My dates have been a complete nightmare.

For example, the last guy I went out on a date with professed his love for me on the first (and only) date.

And when I didn’t respond to his 34 back-to-back text messages comparing our love to Romeo and Juliet, he managed to use his police officer capabilities to find my address so he could come to my house to make sure I wasn’t dead.

I’m not kidding.

And last night I realized that I have subconsciously given up on online dating.

Because instead of reading my matches’ profiles and perusing their many photos with beer cans and cropped out ex-girlfriends, I’ve been looking at their job titles.

And not in the “I wonder if he makes good money” sort-of way.

More in the, “oh, he’s a Graphic Designer. I wonder if he could be a fit for the job I’m recruiting on” sort-of way.

I have officially started recruiting my matches.

I’m convinced I am moving one step closer towards being a cat lady. Or maybe work has taken over my life. Or maybe online dating is the new LinkedIn for recruiting?

Or maybe I’m just still trying to find that needle in a haystack.

Photo (59)

Yeah, we’ll just go with that for now.

So until I find that needle I’ll just keep making delicious recipes to share with the World.

I made for you Apple, Cinnamon and Walnut Baked Oatmeal with a Date Caramel Sauce. It’s incredibly easy to make and you can make a batch earlier in the week and have a slice for breakfast each morning. Or you can turn it into a healthy apple pie and have it for dessert.

Or you can have it for breakfast AND dessert.

And the best part? It’s guilt-free. And doesn’t come with stalking.

Top the oatmeal with a guilt-free caramel sauce, made from just 4 ingredients and NO sugar.

I think I just found my Romeo.

Photo (58)

Apple, Cinnamon and Walnut Baked Oatmeal with Date Caramel Sauce {healthy, delicious and the perfect grab and go breakfast or guilt-free dessert}

Ingredients:

For the Oatmeal:

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup light or dark brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • 2 heaping tablespoons unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup chopped raw unsalted walnuts
  • 2 cups apples, diced

For the Date Caramel:

  • 8 pitted dates
  • 1/2 cup water (add more as necessary if sauce is too thick)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Instructions:

For the Date Caramel:

  1. Place dates in food processor and blend until processed.
  2. Pour in water and vanilla. Process until smooth (you make have to scrape sides with spatula). Refrigerate (will thicken)

For the Oatmeal:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°
  2. Grease an 8×8 inch baking dish and set aside
  3. In a bowl whisk together oats, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and brown sugar.. Stir in apples and walnuts. Set aside.
  4. In another mixing bowl, mix together milk, vanilla, egg, melted coconut oil and applesauce. Mix together and pour over dry mixture. Stir to combine.
  5. Pour mixture into greased baking dish and bake for 40 minutes.
  6. Remove from oven and let cool for ten minutes. Slice and top with ice cream of choice and date caramel. I topped mine with Arctic Zero Vanilla Maple (found in ice cream isle at Whole Foods). Best when served warm.
  7. Enjoy!

Photo (64)

One thought on “Apple, Cinnamon and Walnut Baked Oatmeal with Date Caramel Sauce {healthy, delicious and the perfect grab and go breakfast or guilt-free dessert}

  1. Pingback: Lazy Daisy Oatmeal Cake | Zlater Family CookBook

Leave a Reply

