No-Bake Banana Chia Pudding Pie {healthy, guilt-free and gluten-free}

photo (37)

I have to be honest with you…

I think I may enjoy baking more than cooking.

I know, I know…I can’t believe I’m admitting to this because I love all things food.

But I CONSTANTLY crave baked goods, especially this time of the year when bikini weather is no more.

So who’s taking me on a vacation?

And since these cravings aren’t going anywhere, and I’m not gaining self-control anytime soon and am planning on bombarding you with TONS of unhealthy delicious fall recipes I’ve come up with, I decided to experiment with a healthy pie recipe.  And I succeeded.

I perfected a pie crust that’s healthy, dairy-free, gluten-free and is made without flour, butter, oils and added sugars. And a filling that’s good for you AND delicious at the same time.

Unfortunately, it was so delicious that I couldn’t just have one slice.

So I ate the whole thing.

Oops.

Sorry I’m not sorry.

No-Bake Banana Chia Pudding Pie {healthy, guilt-free and gluten-free}

photo (36)

Ingredients:

For the crust:

  • 4 tbsp cocoa or raw cacao powder
  • 1 cup raw almonds (or any nut of choice)
  • 1 cup shredded coconut (unsweetened)
  • 16 dried pitted dates
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp agave

For the Filling:

  • 4 ripe bananas (3 1/2 for filling and 1/2 for topping)
  • 1 cup lite coconut milk
  • 3 tbsp water
  • 2-3 packets Stevia ([ersonal preference- I like a crust that’s not so sweet)
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 7 tbsp Chia seeds
  • optional: coconut for sprinkling

Directions

For Pie Crust:

  1. Place all ingredients in a food processor and blend. You may have to do half at a time, depending on the size of your food processor
  2. Transfer into a pie dish. Using some baking paper, press it into the pan and up sides. Place in refrigerator.

For the filling:

  1. Place the bananas, coconut milk, water, Stevia, vanilla extract, and salt into a blender.
  2. Puree on high until completely smooth, then pour into a jar or bowl.
  3. Add the Chia seeds and stir in completely. DO NOT blend.  Cover and place in the refrigerator for at least two hours.
  4. After two hours, take the pie crust and Chia pudding out of the fridge. Pour filling into pie crust, top with whipped cream, banana slices, and whatever other toppings of choice (I topped with chocolate shavings and coconut shreds.)
  5. Serve chilled and enjoy!

photo (39)

photo (41)

Leave a Reply

