Pumpkin Spice Latte Cupcakes {Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with a Coffee Cream Cheese Icing}

photo (24)

“You have to leave the city of your comfort and go into the wilderness of your intuition. What you’ll discover will be wonderful. What you’ll discover is yourself.”

That’s what I did exactly two Septembers ago. I left all that I knew. I left my childhood and beginning of adulthood. I left comfort; family, friends and familiarity. I left a job that provided me with a sense of accomplishment, friendship and culture. I left my favorite city. I left a relationship that was filled with “…” and too many unknowns.

I left all that I knew to find myself; to start a new beginning, to prove my family wrong and to discover what it is in life I needed to be fulfilled. And that I was OK being on my own. I craved a change.

And two years later, as I reflect back, I’m still unsure of who I am and what exactly it is that I need in order to have a fulfilled life.

I reflect back on the month of September. A month with memories of moving trucks, a car accident, meeting someone who brought me challenge and passion and emotions I thought I could never experience. Moving away from a best friend but meeting another. Picking up my life all for a new job… or was I running from myself?

As I struggle to get through this September, I look back at everything that I’ve been able to experience and learn about myself the past two years. I’m proud of who I am and the obstacles I’ve conquered. I may not have found my dream job, I may not have found my soul mate, I may not be living near my friends or family and I may not have found what it is I need in order to have a fulfilled life. But one thing I do know is I’ve remained tough, as I always have, when something bad is thrown my way.

Just as Fall has arrived and the leaves have begun to change for the season, I realize September is just a month of change for me. Whether it be change for the better or for the worse, September just means that something better will be coming my way soon.

Cooking and baking is the one constant in my life that has allowed me to express my emotions, my love and my passions. It has been there for me since I was in ninth grade as my source of comfort and relief when I had no breakfasts or dinners and just a box of cake mix. Cooking became my therapy.

This past month I haven’t cooked or baked. I’ve been so wrapped up with emotion and the feared month of September that I lost sight of what has been a constant and what has gotten me through change. The one thing that allows me to express my love, emotions and passions when I have nothing else to pour them into.

photo (32)

Which is why I’m back and better than ever. I made for you the best Pumpkin Spice Latte Cupcakes you’ll ever have. Filled with fresh canned pumpkin of the season, fall spices and a delicious icing made up of coffee and cream cheese, you’ll never need to go back to Starbucks again for your fall craving of pumpkin spice and lattes.

photo (26)

Pumpkin Spice Latte Cupcakes {Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with a Coffee Cream Cheese Icing}

Ingredients:

For the Cupcakes:

  • 1/2 cup almond flour (if you don’t have almond flour you can just use regular)
  • 1/2 All Purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I used 6 Stevia packets and 1/4 cup of sugar)
  • 1 stick unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin

For the Coffee Cream Cheese Icing:

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar (you can add more if you like a sweeter frosting)
  • 6 tablespoons freshly brewed strong coffee; cooled
  • 2 tablespoons ground coffee (more if you prefer)
  • 1 8 oz. package cream cheese
  • 2 Tbsp butter; room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions:

For the cupcakes (makes 12):

  1. Preheat oven to 350°
  2. Line muffin tin with cupcake liners.
  3. In a bowl whisk together flour, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, allspice, baking soda and baking powder. Set aside.
  4. In a large mixing bowl cream together butter and sugar until fluffy.
  5. Add in pumpkin, eggs and vanilla and mix together until blended.
  6. Add in dry ingredients and mix until blended; be careful not to over-mix.
  7. Fill each liner 2/3 full with batter.
  8. Bake for 15-20 minutes until toothpick comes out clean.
  9. Remove from oven and cool.

photo (33)

For the Icing

  1. Cream the butter and cream cheese together until fluffy.
  2. Add vanilla, coffee and coffee grounds. Mix until blended.
  3. Add powdered sugar a little at a time and blend until mixed well; about 3 minutes.{ I only used approximately 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar because I don’t like as sweet of an icing. Feel free to add more if you’d like}
  4. Place in refrigerator for approximately 30 minutes.
  5. Pour icing into a Ziploc bag and cut the corner of one end. Poke a hole in the center of each cupcake. Cover each cupcake, starting at the center hole and working your way around.
  6. Try not to eat it all the icing before covering cupcakes 🙂

Enjoy!

photo (31)

One thought on “Pumpkin Spice Latte Cupcakes {Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with a Coffee Cream Cheese Icing}

Leave a Reply

